jump to navigation

Twitter=High School September 8, 2008

Posted by swegene1 in Library.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I could like twitter. It is possible that it could be a lot of fun, and even potentially useful. Sort of like High School. Some people loved high school, they played sports, had tons of friends, learned a whole heck of a lot: it was the time of their lives. But not me.

My high school graduating class had over 800 students in it, and the school had about 2000 students in 10, 11, and 12 grades. I had maybe five or ten friends. It wasn’t as bad as middle school (nothing can be that bad, honestly) but high school was not the best years of my life.

Twitter makes me feel like I am back in high school–hovering on the borders of all sorts of different social groups–overhearing what they say, but not being included. Sarah is one of the most common names for my age group, and in high school people would say “Hi Sarah!” when I responded they’d say “I wasn’t talking to YOU!” That is twitter to me–people talking to each other while I listen in and am not included.

I suppose to make High school/Twitter successful, one has to go out and find/make friends who will include you in their conversations and care about what you say. But now, as then, I find myself tuning out everyone who wants to say Hi Sarah, because so few are actually talking to me.

http://twitter.com/swegener

Comments»

1. Jake - April 18, 2009

I always wanted to be a librarian. Still do actually! I just wrote a blog comparing Twitter to high school and yours showed up in possibly related links. I’m so glad I clicked… I’m going to wander a bit now and read some more of what you’ve written.

2. swegene1 - April 18, 2009

Thanks, though most of what I’ve posted is school or work related. This was a pretty honest post, or personal post. Most of my stuff is either storytime related or for my final project. Maybe once I finish my project, I’ll have more time for fun stuff.
Sarah


Leave a Reply

